Thursday, September 9, 2010

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest)

Millennium Trilogy Book Information

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Penguin Canada, 2009.

The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson. Penguin Canada, 2010.

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest by Stieg Larsson. Viking Canada, 2010.

My Summary and Review

In an isolated area of Sweden, Mikael Blomkvist, a high ranking investigative journalist, teams up with a stubborn, secretive, and socially awkward computer hacker, Lisbeth Salander, to solve an old case of a missing teenager from an elite Swedish family. As the series progresses, dangerous individuals from Salander's past start to emerge, and terrifying events from Salander's past must be resolved.

Stieg Larsson has created a resourceful, tattooed, anti-heroine in Lisbeth Salander. Characterized by silence, secrecy, and a horrifying childhood, Lisbeth Salander often seems to be a real paradox, and her action/decisionmaking processes are gripping. 

Larsson draws on a wealth of experience in journalism in the character of Mikael Blomkvist. Though Blomkvist is never settled in his intimate relationships with women, his unflagging support for Salander, his keen mind for research, and his perceptive abilities add to this series' general appeal.

My Notes

This is one of the rare ocasions where I actually bought the second book in the series to read while waiting for the third, since I just couldn't wait! It's easy to see why the books in this series are bestsellers. I recommend this series highly, even though the first book takes a while to get started. I also advise that these books contain mature subject matter in the form of explicit sexual abuse. 

1 comment:

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest by Stieg Larsson is the best in the trilogy, though the first one was also extremely interesting, it's only the second which appeared slightly outlandish to me